2019–2020 Committee Members of the Year

Thursday Network
3 min readOct 25, 2020


Congratulations to Honey Bashir, Nicole Parker, Whitney Celestin, Noelle Jordan, and Kelsey Times!

Community Service Committee: Honey Bashir

Honey Bashir’s commitment to community service has been exemplary. Ms. Bashir understands that addressing the needs of the community requires consistency, a shared vision, and the voices of the community. Ms. Bashir is always eager to share ideas during community service meetings and is a food pantry staple. During the 2020 MLK Day of Service, Ms. Bashir single-handedly corralled colleagues from a partner organization and managed our distribution operations for the initiative. We are honored to serve alongside Ms. Bashir and honor her service to the community and the organization.

Personal and Professional Development Committee: Nicole Parker

Since joining, Nicole Parker has consistently been able to contribute ideas and evaluate content that has provided tremendous growth within our membership. Last term, her dedication to service and outstanding performance established her as a true pillar within the PPD Committee. More specifically, I was able to personally lean on her to provide qualitative perspectives from a neighboring point of view that was not captured through myself or leadership. Thank you Nicole…for being such an amazing help by making my task easier as well as being a great joy to serve with.

Fund Development Committee: Whitney Celestin

When we achieve, we usually do so because others have helped. I selected Whitney Celestin as the Fund Development member of the year because she was an integral part of our team’s success last term. She exceeded all expectations in helping me develop the Grant writing subcommittee, hosted workshops, and reviewed grants late at night with me. She is a true example of what it means to be a selfless team member and a reliable friend. Thank you Whitney for all that you have done and continue to do.

Public Relations Committee: Noelle Jordan

Noelle Jordan has been an engaged and dedicated member to the PR Committee. She has truly been able to exemplify what it means to effectively lead during times of uncertainty. Noelle’s exemplary leadership was displayed particularly during Thursday Network’s regional conference — BeastCon. She led the organization in successfully producing a full virtual conference during the COVID-19 pandemic. Noelle was able to inform and educate Thursday Network on how to execute a virtual two-day conference seamlessly. Her support, positive energy, enthusiasm and willingness to dive in never wavered. Noelle was up for every challenge thrown her way and always displayed her tenacity to accomplish the team’s goal. Her leadership and contributions are invaluable to Thursday Network which is why we believe she is deserving of being recognized as PR Committee Member of the Year!

Membership Committee: Kelsey Times

Kelsey Times has been an incredible member of the Membership Services committee. Getting involved at the start of the pandemic, Kelsey did not allow being in the virtual space stop her from making meaningful contributions and connections within Thursday Network. From the first moment she attended a membership meeting she exhibited her clear passion for helping connect people within our organization. Kelsey’s positive personality and warm spirit has made her an incredible resource as a new member ambassador to our new member cohort. She has worked behind the scenes to help develop and execute our hometown cooking TN DINE in virtual event and our recent membership appreciation day. She has been appointed to the role of deputy membership chair where she has been dedicating her efforts to designing a series of members only social distanced small group activities that we hope to debut this term. Kelsey we are grateful for you and it is my pleasure to recognize you as the 2019–2020 membership services committee member of the year.



Thursday Network

TN is community of young professionals who support the Greater Washington Urban League by focusing on Community Service and Civic Engagement in the DMV area.